“Nordic-Baltic” regional division of UPC agreed


On 4 March 2014, Sweden, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania signed an agreement on the establishment of a Nordic-Baltic regional division of the Unified Patent Court.

English will be the language of the proceedings, the seat and sub-registry will be in Stockholm, and the intention is for cases to be heard in multiple locations to the greatest extent possible (with each country designating facilities in their country for hearings).

Commission’s press release – HERE

Regarding other Nordic countries, it is thought that Finland is likely to set up its own local division allowing Finnish as a designated language, and Denmark may also be considering setting up its own local division (perhaps in view of the language issue and the national referendum in May on whether Denmark should ratify the UPC Agreement).

Robert Burrows


Other news