Luxembourg ratifies the UPC agreement


On 18 March 2015, the Chamber of Deputies (the Luxembourg Parliament) voted unanimously to ratify the UPC Agreement (see here). This makes it the 7th country to ratify in addition to Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Malta and Sweden, albeit that Luxembourg still needs to deposit its instrument of ratification in Brussels. Before the UPC Agreement can enter into force, 13 countries must ratify (and deposit instruments of ratification) and this number must also include Germany and the UK in addition to France. The rapporteur, Claudia Dall’Agnol, has also stated that Luxembourg does not intend to create a local division, because Luxembourg has very few disputes over patents and thus the central division will be responsible for UPC actions which could otherwise have been brought in Luxembourg.

Liz Cohen


Other news