Belgium ratifies UPC Agreement


On 6 June 2014, Belgium became the fourth member state to ratify the UPC Agreement and deposit its instrument of ratification in Brussels with the General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union.  The Belgian Parliament passed the law authorising ratification of the UPC Agreement before the national elections on 24 May, but the deposit of the instrument of ratification was the final step required for ratification to have effect under Article 89(1) UPC Agreement.  Belgium will establish a local division of the UPC in Brussels, with the Court operating in four languages: French, Dutch and German (the national languages) and English.

Council’s table on ratification progress – here

Brian Cordery


Other news